Lowell Chapter Awards 12 Scholarships

Transfiguration Scholarships--(front, L to R) Philoptochos President Daphne Zaralidis, recipients, Kara Moloney, Alexis Liakos, 
Alexandra Christie, Alexandra Vercontaire, 
Nikki Economou, Jennifer Simpson, and
Acelyn Colella; (back row) Scholarship
Chairwoman Patricia Mahoney, Fr. Christ Foustoukos, recipients Michael Nelligan,
Elias Tsismenakis, Elizabeth Lane and
Christopher Dobi. Absent: Georgia Koukos.

Mosaic icons completed by noted iconographer
Robert J. Andrews for Transfiguration Greek Orthodox
of Lowell, Massachusetts

LOWELL, Mass.--Philoptochos members at Transfiguration Church each year present honorary and memorial scholarships to deserving high school graduates from the community.

The chapter recently awarded 12-$500 scholarships to the following students: Alexandra Christie, daughter of Philip and Cynthia (Cheney) Christie of Andover, who received the Wes and Nikki Stillwagon Memorial Scholarship; Acelyn Dorothy Colella, daughter of Gerald and Joyce (Liakos) Colella of Lowell, recipient of the Peter Cavoures Family Scholarship; Christopher George Dobi, son of Ernest and Ellen (Koutsis) Dobi of Billerica, recipient of Helen Kokkales and Helen Finocchiaro Memorial Scholarship; Nikki Economou, daughter of James and Thea (Nicolopoulos) Economou of Dracut, recipient of James Sturgis Otis Scholarship; Georgia Koukos, daughter of Angelo and Lisa Koukos of Dracut, recipient of Tavoularis Family Scholarship; Elizabeth Christine Lane, daughter of David and Nancy (Dzedulonis) Lane of Chelmsford, recipient of teh James Alexakos Memorial Scholarship; Alexis Liakos, daughter of Peter and Elaine (Zafiriou) Liakos of Lowell, recipient of Peter and Sally Manousos Memorial Scholarship; Kara Moloney, daughter of Peter and Kim (Kosartes) Moloney of Dracut, recipeient of the Philoptochos Scholarship; Michael Thomas Nelligan, son of Dorothy (Mastacoures) Nelligan and late Thomas Nelligan of Lowell, recipient of Spiros Sintros Scholarship; Jennifer Simpson, daughter of Donald and Martha (Pappas) Simpson of Billerica; recipient of John and Kalliope Karagianes Memorial Scholarship; Elias Tsismenakis, son of John and Helen (Pallantzas) Tsismenakis of Dracut, recipient of Crystal Lanagas Memorial Scholarship; and Alexandra Vercontaire, daughter of David and Ellen (Neofotistos) Vercontaire of Dracut, recipient of Peter A. Eliopoulos Scholarship.

2000 © Hellenic Communication Service, L.L.C. All Rights Reserved.